Bad Luck (de)motivational poster

“Bad Luck”

One common theme my friends seem to note is that I have a consistent string of “bad luck.” This is sometimes accompanied by an “I don’t get it, you have all this bad luck, but nothing happens to you, just around you, and somehow you always get caught up in it.”

While I appreciate the sentiment, to a large degree, I also deal with the fact that I don’t believe in “luck” good or bad. “Luck,” as I see it is simply good or bad strategy. Some people are excellent at strategy, most people are pretty mediocre, and others still are just not.

I’m not going to poo poo anyone in this blog, all of my happenings are a mixed bag, but all of them involve two elements: strategy, and me.

I’ll admit that yes, I have had a rough run of things. Though I wouldn’t particularly say better or worse than anyone else. They do have a tendency of bunching up. Thankfully I’ve had a great team of friends, and been very fortunate to have a few understanding bosses, whom I’m thankful for.

I don’t get it, you have all this bad luck, but nothing happens to you, just around you, and somehow you always get caught up in it.

What I will say is that bad strategy leads to strong medicine, and I’ve been exposed to enough strong medicine to have become resourceful. This allows me to bounce back when things do go sideways. Maybe not always quickly, but at least eventually.

The main ingredient in any of my strategies is patience. Which is ironic considering how often I’m told to slow down, usually by people that aren’t seeing what I am in my strategies. I can sit and bide my time, but when it’s time to move, it’s time to move.

Unfortunately, when it’s time for me to move, it isn’t always time for other people to do the same. This can cause conflict and ruffled feathers, which can also lead to more bad luck, I’d say in these cases, it’s my strategy that’s bad. I clearly didn’t account for some other person’s plan. Sometimes though, it’s their strategy that’s off, their timing is poor and we both wind up suffering for it.

I’m going to stop here, mostly because I’ve gone a little too stream of consciousness, and lost the point. But also because the computer’s battery is dying. I’ll probably have more on this, and hopefully figure out enough solutions to be a little more interesting in the future.

Leave a comment